Stripmine Beauty – Filming

Being on this project is one step away from becoming a contagious disease. Jonathan wasn’t feeling well today, I told him that we can do his scenes on Wednesday and Thursday, which works out fine because we would have had everything of his done on Wednesday anyway.

Mateusz is insecure about taking over Jozhik’s role, but it might not be necessary depending on how fast Joseph is going to heal. I went to visit Jozhik so I could pic up the microphone and he looked well. I’m going to have to do ADR for at least the scene we shot today – we didn’t have the extension cord for the mic we thought we did and sound editing would be a mess with the church bells going off and the fountain and the 4000 Yale students making noise – so production will stretch a while anyway. I at least want to get Jonathan’s work done – we’re filming his scenes entirely in golden hour, mostly because of his schedule , and if we put it off even a week we’d be stuck in darkness by the time we could get rolling – and I didn’t want to have to reschedule the people with smaller roles, especially because they’re very busy with their careers. So we will soldier on. It’ll be much easier if I can at least get Mina’s setups done at the interior on Thursday, but I’m hoping I can coax Jozhik into just doing the parts where he sits there and talks.

Setting up the camera and shooting was bliss, everything else is a nightmare. Not that it’s hard, it’s just I don’t have an AD or a script super or anything this project. The industry in Connecticut is quite busy because a few other things are shooting around this time. I’m having to mentally organize everything by myself when I really should be having all my mental energies focused on the actors and the image (which is the thing that I am good at). Was exhausted by the time I got home, went straight to bed. Had nightmares all night long about working on a film set and having C-stands and tripods that tilted for no apparent reason, and unexplained dolly moves nobody mentioned to me before sticking me behind one, and in general the kind of dreams that only people who are grips have.

Niecy and Victoria got along really well, I’m hoping that everyone else will be able to get along quickly too.

Tomorrow should be a rainy mess even though we’re doing entirely exteriors, which I decided won’t impact the desired mood of the scenes so I’m making everyone go out there anyway. I’m hoping to be able to find a – I don’t know what to call, a thing that keeps things hot – so I’ll at least be able to have hot chocolate on set for everyone. It will be fun to light at least.

Also, Gary Ploski who I worked with a few times before is in the papers mashAllah. It looks like he’s going to Cannes, I think with one of the shorts we did with him. Good job Gary.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment